Crockpot Lasagna

16 Comments

Before I forget, I want to thank everyone for all the kind comments and emails I received about Mr. Meat Eater.  We went to the doctor on Wednesday and there is NO cancer but he does have kidney disease.  Nothing too serious at this point but his doctor wants to slow the progression down quite a bit.  Right now that means changing up his meds so perfectly doable and easy.  We have no idea what the future will hold but it could have been so much worse and we are thankful that it wasn’t.

On to the recipe ~ I’ve seen crockpot lasagna recipes flying around the internet for a long time but I never believed it would work OR taste good.  Mr. Meat Eater loves lasagna but I rarely make it because it makes too much for just the two of us ~ I’m really bad about putting some in the freezer for another day and I can only take so many leftovers before I rebel.  I also hate throwing food away so I always look for smaller versions of our favorites.

This is a super easy recipe that I found on Tablespoon and it was posted by girlwhoateeverything blog.  I used a few more noodles than called for since I like the pasta otherwise I made it as posted.

Crockpot Lasagna

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

1 pound ground beef ~ I use 85%
1 small onion, chopped
1 tsp minced garlic
1 (24 oz) jar spaghetti sauce ~ I think mine was 28 oz and I used the whole thing
1/2 cup water
1 (15 oz) container ricotta cheese
2 cups shredded mozzarella
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 egg
2 tbsps fresh parsley, chopped, or 2 tsps dried parsley
6 uncooked lasagna noodles ~ I used 8-10 noodles

Cook ground beef and onion in a large skillet. Add garlic and cook for one more minute and then drain. Add the spaghetti sauce and water and simmer for 5 minutes.

Mix the ricotta, 1 1/2 cups mozzarella, 2 tbsps Parmesan, egg and parsley in a separate bowl.

In a 4 to 6 quart slow cooker, pour 1 cup of the spaghetti sauce mixture. Place half of the noodles (breaking them to fit) and then half of the cheese mixture on top of the noodles. Cover with 2 cups of the spaghetti sauce mixture. Repeat with the noodles (breaking to fit) and the cheese mixture. Pour the rest of the spaghetti sauce mixture over the top.

Cook on LOW for 4-5 hours or until noodles are soft.

Sprinkle with 1/2 cup of mozzarella cheese and the remaining Parmesan. Cover and let the cheese melt. Turn off the crockpot and let sit for 10 minutes before serving.

Do NOT cook this on high and do not overcook or it will get mushy.

Makes about 8-10 servings.

Happy Cooking!

16 thoughts on “Crockpot Lasagna

  1. Pingback: What’s Been Happenin’ In The Cocina ~ 3/10/12 | Juanita's Cocina

Leave a Reply

