Blueberry Cream Cheese French Toast with Blueberry Syrup

8 Comments

As a rule, I am not a fan of French toast but I have really started to like these overnight French toast recipes.  I think I made this one for Christmas breakfast for Mr. Meat Eater and I and we really enjoyed it.

I always use Challah bread for these kinds of recipes ~ it soaks up the liquids nicely and it’s a bit sweet.  King’s Hawaiian bread would work nicely, too.  I used frozen blueberries for both the casserole and the syrup and they worked perfectly.

I found the recipe on a blog called Real Mom Kitchen ~ it’s a very cute blog with some great recipes so check it out when you have a chance.

Blueberry Cream Cheese French Toast with Blueberry Syrup

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

French Toast:

12 slices bread, cut into cubes ~ I used challah but King’s Hawaiian would work
1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, cut in cubes
1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen) ~ I used frozen and probably about 1 1/2 cups ~ do not defrost
12 eggs
1/3 cup real maple syrup
2 cups milk

Arrange 1/2 of the bread cubes in a greased 9 x 13 pan. Sprinkle cream cheese cubes and blueberries evenly over the bread cubes and top with remaining bread cubes.

Mix together the eggs, milk, and syrup. Pour over bread cubes and cover the pan with foil. Refrigerate overnight.

Bake, covered, at 350º for 30 minutes. Remove the foil and bake for another 30 minutes or until fluffy and golden.

Top with sauce.

Makes 8 servings.

Syrup:

1 cup sugar
1 cup water
2 tbsps cornstarch
1 cup blueberries ~ I used frozen but fresh is fine ~ do not defrost
1 tbsp butter

Cook water, sugar, and cornstarch together until thickened. Stir in blueberries and simmer for 10 minutes. Add butter and stir until melted. Serve over the french toast.

Happy Cooking!

8 thoughts on “Blueberry Cream Cheese French Toast with Blueberry Syrup

  1. Pingback: French Toast Tuesday | theplaceswevebeen

  2. This recipe looks very good up to the point where it says maple syrup, I detest maple flavoring. Is there something I could substitutethe syrup with? Also do you think I could I use bottled blueberries?

Leave a Reply

