Apple Crumb Pie

7 Comments

Before I get started on the pie, I wanted to let you all know that I am having a virtual Christmas cookie recipe swap over on my A Recipe A Day Facebook page.  If you want to join in, all the information is under the event post.  I hope you will join us ~ the more the merrier!

My very favorite apples are Macouns.  They taste like McIntosh but hold up like a Granny Smith.  They do not cook down to much like McIntosh.  They are great for baking, cooking,  and eating ~ a really nice all purpose apple.  They can be difficult to find but my local BJs has huge bags of them for sale every fall.  Give them a try if you can find them.

This pie is super easy and really good.  I used Splenda blend instead of all sugar but otherwise made it according to the recipe.  I like to keep apple pies in the refrigerator since I like them cold and I think it helps to keep the bottom crust from becoming soggy, which I hate.  I found the recipe on allrecipes.

Apple Crumb Pie

1 (9 inch) pie crust
5 cups of apples, peeled, cored, and sliced
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Crumb topping:
1/3 cup sugar
3/4 cup flour
6 tbsps butter

Preheat oven to 400º.

Pour apple slices into prepared pie shell. In a small bowl, mix 1/2 cup sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle evenly over apple slices in pie shell.

In another bowl, mix the 1/3 cup sugar and flour and then cut in butter until the mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle this mixture over the apples.

Bake for 35 to 40 minutes or until apples are soft and crumbly top is lightly browned.

Makes 8 servings

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

7 thoughts on “Apple Crumb Pie

  1. Nancy where could i leave you a receipe being that Christmas is right around the corner i have a suger cookie recipe that will knock your socks off believe me you and your followers will love it.

    • Steve, you can post it on A Recipe A Day on facebook starting on Monday or you can email it to me (a_recipe_a_day at yahoo dot com) and I will post it with your name for our virtual Christmas cookie swap.

  2. Hi Nancy,

    This pie looks delish and easy for a non-baker like myself. I was wondering if you could tell me how you did the sugar/splenda blend?

    Thanks,
    Carol

    • Hi Carol! I buy it already blended. It’s a smaller bag than regular Splenda and it is called Splenda Blend and it’s found right by the regular Splenda. I use it quite a bit in baking ~ the conversion amounts are right on the back of the bag!

Leave a Reply

