My Favorite Breakfast Casserole

Leave a comment

Way back in May, 2008, when I started this blog, this was the first recipe I posted ~ without a picture ~ so I thought a do-over was called for.

This is really my favorite breakfast casserole and I served it at my recent EB Pink Party.  It’s the recipe I usually make for holiday breakfasts since it can be put together for the most part the night before.  It’s also very easy to add or subtract ingredients and make it your very own.  I never put in the tomatoes and I have made it with ham, bacon and sausage.  All three are good but I like ham the best.

When I make for a holiday breakfast, I usually make a fruit salad and some kind of sweet rolls or coffeecake ~ very easy and delicious!

I think I found this recipe on a B&B website but I’ve been using it for so long I don’t remember for sure.

Breakfast Casserole

1/2 stick butter
1 small onion, chopped
1 small green pepper, chopped
2 -3 medium tomatoes, chopped
12 eggs, beaten
1 24 oz bag frozen hash brown potatoes
1/2 to 1 pound cubed ham, thin sliced ham, cooked crumbled bacon, or cooked, crumbled sausage
3 cups cheddar cheese, shredded

Melt butter and place in bottom of 13 x 9 baking pan (glass). Spread potatoes (still frozen is ok) in bottom of pan. Sprinkle chopped veggies over potatoes Add salt and pepper to taste. Sprinkle meat over potatoes and veggies At this point, you may continue or casserole may be refrigerated overnight.

Pour beaten eggs over potatoes. Bake at 350º for 45 minutes. Remove from oven and sprinkle cheese evenly over top. Bake another 5-10 minutes or until cheese is hot and bubbly.

Remove from oven and let set for approx. 5 minutes. Cut into squares and serve with spatula.

Makes 6-8 servings

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

