A NEW Giveaway!

59 Comments

This giveaway has ended but check the giveaways link up above to see if there are any current giveaways!

Yes, a NEW giveaway ~ a brand new copy of The Kitchen Counter Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn published by Viking.

Last month I was contacted by Viking to see if I would be interested in reviewing this book and giving one away on my blog.  I jumped at the chance.

This is a fabulous book ~ especially if you like to read about cooking like I do.

Kathleen Flinn is a writer and journalist and a chef.  When she encountered a woman at the grocery piling processed foods in her cart, she decided to take the bull by the horn and teach those who can’t cook, to cook basic recipes.  She went into their kitchens, rearranged, taught basic kitchen skills and taught them basic recipes.

I, personally, enjoyed reading this and now that Mr. Meat Eater and I are empty-nesters, I don’t want us to slip into the fast food, processed food trap.  I don’t think we are but being able to refer to this book when I need a boost will be great.  The book really shows that it is not difficult to put good, nutritious food on your table every day.  With obesity and the problems surrounding it, this is an invaluable lesson.

The basic recipes in the book run the gamut from a basic omelet to making your own cream of whatever soup.  DIY vinaigrette to baked chicken nuggets.  Many of these recipes could be used for a family meal or company.  One of the most valuable things to me in the book is the flavor profile cheat sheet which shows what flavors go together.

Here is the book’s amazon page so you can read more about it ~ The Kitchen Counter Cooking School by Kathleen Flinn

This book will be coming to the winner of the giveaway straight from the publisher along with a magnet.  I will pass the winner’s information on to Viking and they will be mailing the book out to the winner.

All you have to do to enter is to leave a comment letting me know you would like to win!

The giveaway will be running until October 5! And I forgot to add that I will put all names in a hat and have Mr. Meat Eater choose or I will use Random.org!

Good luck!

Happy Cooking!

59 thoughts on “A NEW Giveaway!

  1. I would love to win this cookbook. I am part of a food club at Northeastern University, and we try to cater to students who are just starting to experiment in the kitchen, while developing the knowledge base of those who are semi-pros! This cookbook would be perfect to give as a raffle! Fingers crossed for this one!

    Allison

  2. I would love to win this new book. I love reading about cooking. In fact, I can sit down with a cookbook and read it like I was reading a novel or magazine!

  3. I would love to win. I love cookbooks. Thanks for hosting the giveaway.
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    Mendy
    mendyd15 at yahoo dot com

  4. I would love to win this cookbook for my daughter who is a student living away from home learning how to cook!

    Many thanks for the opportunity to try and win!

  5. The book sounds wonderful … would love to win it for my son who cooks for his 3 children when mom is working. Fast food is so tempting when you have little time for cooking a real meal.

  6. I would love to win this cookbook. I collect cookbooks and a large amount of mine were destroyed a few years ago. THanks so much for giving everyone a chance to win.

  7. I am a 65 year old single woman who is always looking for healthy recipes to spice up what had become a very boring diet. I would love to win this cookbook to help me find new things to cook.

  8. As brand new empty nesters I see us slowly falling into the fast food & prepared stuff. I think this would help us before it’s too late!

  9. Would Definitely LOVE to add this book to my collection….I too enjoy reading cookbooks like some read novels….this one sounds GREAT….

  10. I would like to win as I try to avoid processed foods as much as possible. I think it would be an interesting read!
    Thanks 🙂

  11. I don’t know if you’d mail to Canada, but I would LOVE to win the
    cookbook!!!!!! I love cooking, especially baking. Good luck to all
    who enter this giveaway!! Thanks

  12. I would love to win the cookbook…you can never have enough and they are great reading material for me!
    Thank you for the chance.

    Christi

Leave a Reply

