Will I Ever Find the “Right” Burger Recipe?

8 Comments

I am forever trying to recreate restaurant burgers with little success.   I’m sure part of the problem is using the correct type of ground beef and I just won’t buy really fatty ground beef so I should just give up this quest of mine.  I saw this recipe in the latest issue of Simple and Delicious and it was like I had to try again to find that elusive burger.  This recipe wasn’t it BUT it is a very delicious burger in it’s own right.  Friday is usually burger night at my house (at least in the summer) so with some tweaking, I made these over the Labor Day weekend.  They are easy and good.

If YOU have that perfect recipe, please send it my way so I can stop searching!

I will be starting a Gooseberry Patch giveaway later this week so watch for it!

Almost Steak House Burgers

5 tbsp mayonnaise
4 1/2 tsps prepared horseradish
3 tbsp butter, softened (may need more)
garlic powder
4 hamburger buns, split
1 1/2 lbs ground beef
1/4 cup steak sauce
4 1/2 tsps onion soup mix
4 slices Swiss cheese

Mix the mayo and horseradish in a small bowl; cover and refrigerate until serving.

Spread the insides of the burger buns with the softened butter and then sprinkle with the garlic powder. Set aside.

Combine the beef, steak sauce, and onion soup mix and shape into four patties. Remember to make a dent in one side with your thumb so you won’t get that burger bump.

Grill burgers until they are done to your liking, adding a slice of Swiss cheese towards the end of cooking. Grill the buns for a few minutes while the burgers are cooking making sure they don’t burn.

Serve burgers on the buns, adding the mayo/horseradish mix on top and your favorite toppings like lettuce and tomato.

Makes 4 burgers.

Happy Cooking!

8 thoughts on “Will I Ever Find the “Right” Burger Recipe?

  1. Years ago when I worked in a local restaurant, we used ground sirloin (5 ounces), flattened the patties with a pie plate, and cooked them on the griddle. They were pretty darn good. 🙂

    On the other end of the scale, now, during grilling season, we like to mix beef chunks with pork chunks, season well, THEN grind it. Still 5-ounce patties, but I don’t flatten them so much for the grill.

    And of course, always serve on a good roll with lettuce, tomato, mayo and a nice slice of red onion. 😀

Leave a Reply

