Black Forest Cupcakes

5 Comments

Before I go any further, Black Forest Cherry Cake is my all-time favorite cake.  In fact, we had one for our wedding cake.  That’s how much I love it.

A few weeks ago, I was reading The Disney Food Blog (one of my very favorite blogs) and came across this post ~ Black Forest Cupcake.  I could NOT stop thinking about it and since I won’t be going back to WDW for a few months, I sent my son (who lives in Orlando) to check it out.  He ate at the Contempo and said the cupcake was one of the best things he had ever eaten.

That was all it took to send me on a mission to recreate it.  As luck would have it, I did a google search and came up with a copycat recipe for regular sized cupcakes.  Being diabetic, I should NOT be eating these at all so I saved up some carbs so I could try it.  I wish I hadn’t.  They are VERY good.  I am looking forward to trying the real thing when I get back to the World.   And I ate more than one.

Black Forest Cherry Cupcakes

1 (18.25 ounce) package chocolate cake mix
1 (8 oz) pkg cream cheese, softened (I used lite)
1 egg
2 tablespoons sugar
1 (19 ounce) can cherry pie filling (I used lite)
1 1/2 cups thawed Cool Whip  (I used sugar free)

Heat oven to 350º. Prepare cake batter as directed on package and set aside.

Mix cream cheese, egg and sugar until well blended.

Remove 3/4 cup of the cherry pie filling for garnish; set aside.

Spoon 2 tablespoons cake batter into each of 24 paper-lined medium muffin cups. Top each with 1 tablespoon each of the cream cheese mixture and the remaining cherry pie filling. Cover evenly with remaining cake batter.

Bake 20 to 25 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.

Cool 5 minutes; remove from pan to wire racks. Cool completely.

Top with whipped topping and reserved cherry pie filling just before serving.  Keep in refrigerator.

Makes 24 cupcakes.

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “Black Forest Cupcakes

  1. Great receipe for the cake part…to master the Disney Black Forrest Cupcake, the icing is buttercream with shaved chocolate on the outside of the buttercream and they top it off with a chocolate covered cherry on the stem as the garnish.
    Your reipe for the actuall cake and filling is idenitcal to the Disney recipe!!!

Leave a Reply

