Sweet Potato Muffins

4 Comments

The first time I had sweet potato muffins was in Colonial Williamsburg years ago.  I loved them and when I came across this recipe in a cookbook from Bruton Parish Church   (located in the historic area), I knew I had to try them.  If you don’t tell anyone they are sweet potato, they will think they are pumpkin.  I had to do that with Mr. Meat Eater to get him to even try one and he ended up eating at least 4 or 5 in one sitting.  They are really good!  I did confess later on that he had been eating sweet potato and he was shocked, LOL!

I did, as usual, change them to suit me but really very little.  I used less sugar ~ 1 cup as opposed to 1  1/4 and I used currants instead of raisins because I think they taste better in muffins since they are smaller so there is no need to chop them.  I also used 1 1/4 tsps of cinnamon since I don’t like nutmeg and didn’t have any.  The recipe said it makes 12 but I made 15.

The cookbook is called Beyond Loaves and Fishes and it is one of my favorites.

Sweet Potato Muffins

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/4 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 1/2 cups mashed sweet potatoes (I used canned)
1 1/2 cups flour
2 tsps baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1 cup milk
1/2 cup shopped raisins
1/4 cup chopped pecans

Preheat the oven to 400º.

Cream butter and sugar together and add eggs and mix well. Blend in the sweet potatoes.

In another bowl, mix the flour and the rest of the dry ingredients. Add this mixture alternately with the milk to the sweet potato mixture. Be careful not to over mix.

Fold in the pecans and raisins.

Spoon batter into greased muffin cups filling about 2/3rds full. Sprinkle with sugar if desired (I didn’t do this).

Bake for 25 minutes. Cool and remove from tins.

Makes 12-15 muffins.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Muffins

  1. Pingback: BBQ Grail’s 10 Posts Worth A Look: Aug 16, 2011 | The BBQ Grail

Leave a Reply

