Chocolate Cake Day!

1 Comment

I’ve been told that today is Chocolate Cake Day ~ I figure any day is chocolate cake day so I will take this opportunity to repost my Mom’s chocolate cake recipe.  This is the recipe that EVERYBODY in my family requests for their birthday.  I think I could make it with my eyes closed.  It’s not as sweet as cakes go and it’s dense but we love it.

Happy Chocolate Cake Day!

My Mom’s Chocolate Cake

1/2 cup butter
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
2 (1 oz) unsweetened baking chocolate squares, melted
1 tsp vanilla
2 cups cake flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup ice water

Stir butter to soften gradually, add sugar, creaming until light and fluffy.

Add eggs one at a time beating well after each.

Blend in cooled chocolate and vanilla.

Sift together flour, soda and salt, add to creamed mixture alternately with water, beating after each addition.

Bake in 2 (8-inch) round, greased cake pans at 350º for 30-35 minutes.

Frost with 1 pint heavy or whipping cream, whipped or your favorite frosting.

Makes 8-12 servings depending on size of the slices.

Happy Cooking!

 

One thought on “Chocolate Cake Day!

Leave a Reply

