Even Easier Chicken Parmigiana

2 Comments

Chicken parm is one of my absolute favorite meals.  If it’s on a menu in a restaurant, I order it.  I already have an easy chicken parmigiana recipe but this one is different and delicious.  I found it in Cooking Light’s Essential Dinner Tonight Cookbook ~ I am really loving this cookbook and I am usually so-so about Cooking Light recipes. I did put my own spin on it so it may NOT be a light meal anymore.

Even Easier Chicken Parmigiana

1/3 cup Parmesan cheese, divided
1/2 cup Italian-style breadcrumbs
1 egg, beaten
1 lb chicken breast tenders
1 1/2 cups tomato-basil pasta sauce ~ I used the whole jar because I like things saucy; make your own sauce, if preferred
2 tsps balsamic vinegar
1/3 cup shredded mozzarella

Place beaten egg in a shallow dish and place the bread crumbs and 2 tbsps Parmesan in a shallow dish as well. Dip each tender in the egg and then in the breadcrumbs/Parmesan mixture and set aside.

Melt 1 tbsp butter in a large, ovenproof skillet and add chicken. Cook 3-4 minutes on each side until browned and no pink remains in the chicken.

While chicken is cooking, preheat broiler.

Combine the sauce and vinegar in a microwave safe bowl, cover with plastic wrap, vent,  and heat on HIGH for 2 minutes or until heated through. Pour over the chicken in the skillet. Sprinkle with remaining Parmesan and the mozzarella.

Wrap skillet handle with aluminum foil if needed (I don’t have to wrap mine) and broil, watching carefully, until the cheese melts, about 2 minutes or so.

Serve with your favorite pasta.

Makes 4 servings.

Happy Cooking!

2 thoughts on “Even Easier Chicken Parmigiana

Leave a Reply

