Wild Blueberry Pie

5 Comments

PIE!! Pie is supposed to be this year’s cupcake and while I don’t know if that’s true, I do know I like pie better than cupcakes.  I found this recipe on Epicurious.  It’s really, really good.  Just make sure you have a deep dish pie pan and be sure to put a cookie sheet underneath to catch the drips.  I’m sure you can make this with regular blueberries, but the wild blueberries are perfect ~ they are tiny little blueberries.  I buy mine frozen in a huge bag at B.J.’s.

The reason you will *rarely* see a cut piece of pie picture on this blog is because I wreck pie when I cut it.  I make such a mess that I’m embarrassed to photograph it.  If I had my own cooking show, I would never make pie because then I would have to cut it.

Wild Blueberry Pie

1 1/4 cups packed light brown sugar
6 tablespoons quick-cooking tapioca
6 cups fresh wild blueberries or 3 (10-ounce) packages frozen (not thawed) ~ I went with 6 cups frozen, unthawed, since mine came in a huge bag
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
Pastry for a double-crust pie
1 tablespoon unsalted butter, cut into small pieces ~ I didn’t use
1 large egg, beaten with 1 tablespoon water ~ I didn’t use

Preheat oven to 425°.

Whisk together brown sugar and tapioca and toss with blueberries and lemon juice in a large bowl.

Fit dough into pie plate for bottom crust.

Spoon filling with any juices into bottom shell, dot with butter, and cover with top crust. Trim top crust, leaving a 1/2-inch overhang. Fold overhang of top crust under bottom pastry and press against rim of pie plate to reinforce edge, then crimp and brush with egg wash. Make sure the blueberry filling is completely encased in dough to avoid a blueberry mess.

Bake pie on a baking sheet in oven 30 minutes, then cover edge with a pie shield or foil to prevent over browning or burning.

Reduce oven temperature to 375°F and continue to bake until crust is golden and filling is bubbling, 45 to 50 minutes more. Mine took the whole 50 minutes.

Cool pie completely on a rack, about 4 hours (filling will be runny if pie is still warm).

Makes 8 servings.

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “Wild Blueberry Pie

  1. Pingback: Betty’s Super Easy Press-in-Pan Pie Crust Recipe « The Cooking Channel

Leave a Reply

