Loaded Italian Bread

9 Comments

So good, it’s almost a meal in itself.  This recipe is really easy to make and I think it would go with almost any main dish ~ I served it with pasta.  You can change up the bread or even the ingredients if they don’t work with what you are serving it with.

This recipe came from one of my cookbooks called The Wild, Wild West by the Junior League of Odessa, Texas.

Loaded Italian Bread

1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/2 cup Cheddar cheese, shredded
1/4 cup chives, snipped (I just use scissors to snip them into the bowl)
1/3 cup sliced black olives
1/2 tsp garlic salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1 loaf Italian bread

In a medium bowl, mix all the ingredients together EXCEPT the bread.

Slice the bread in half horizontally and spread the mixture evenly over both sides. Put the bread spread side up on a cookie sheet and broil until edges are browned and cheese is melted. Be careful not to burn it.

Makes 4-6 servings.

Happy Cooking!

9 thoughts on “Loaded Italian Bread

      • Hi Nancy! I forgot to mention that I altered the recipe a bit, but it turned out great. I used 2% cheddar cheese and garlic powder rather than garlic salt (we’re trying to cut down on fat and salt where possible). I also used chopped green onions because DH did the grocery shopping and decided they were the same as chives. (sigh) Even with all those changes, the bread came out perfectly. Kathy @ Recipezaar

  1. When I saw this post, I knew immediately it was something I wanted to add to my Super Bowl menu! Thanks so much. I’m looking forward to diving into this yummy bread.

Leave a Reply

