Warm Mushroom Salad and Some Blog Housekeeping

2 Comments

Something else that I want to do this year is to make an index tab at the top of the page to make it easier to see what all is here.  That will take a bit of time so maybe in the next couple of months that will get done.

The printing issue continues to vex me so I found a neat little site that will take a page from here and put it into a printable form.  You will have to copy the URL of the page you are trying to copy, then go to Print Friendly, paste the URL in the bar and hit print preview.  From that page you can print, put it in a PDF, or email it.  It works, I’ve tried it.  I’ll be adding the button to my sidebar here shortly.  That’s about the best I can do until wordpress puts in a printer friendly function.

Now, the recipe.  This salad is the BOMB!!  I love mushrooms ~ I mean I REALLY love mushrooms.  I was in mushroom heaven eating this.  It’s super easy to make and I can’t see any reason why you can’t just use whatever mushrooms you like.

Remember I said I was going to cook from my cookbooks more?  This recipe is adapted  from one of my newer cookbooks ~ More Recipes Worth Sharing by Favorite Recipes Press.  Really delicious recipes in this book and well worth buying!

Warm Mushroom Salad

2 tbsps olive oil
2 shallots, sliced thinly
8 ozs white mushrooms, sliced
4 ozs shiiitake mushrooms, sliced
4 ozs baby bella mushrooms, sliced
2 tbsps olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
6 cups salad greens
2 tbsps olive oil
2 tsps balsamic vinegar
4 ozs crumbled Gorgonzola cheese

Heat 2 tbsps olive oil in large skillet over medium-high heat. Add shallots and saute until shallots begin to caramelize. Add all the mushrooms, 2 tbsps olive oil, sand salt and pepper and continue to saute until the mushrooms are tender. Stir in the 1 tbsp balsamic.

Toss the salad greens with 2 tbsps olive oil and 2 tsps balsamic and season with salt and pepper if desired. Arrange the salad greens on a platter and spoon the warm mushrooms mixture over the greens. Sprinkle the Gorgonzola over the top.

Serve warm.

Makes 6-8 servings.

Happy Cooking!

2 thoughts on “Warm Mushroom Salad and Some Blog Housekeeping

Leave a Reply

