Spicy Corn Muffins

5 Comments

The other day I was looking at the piles and piles of cookbooks I have laying around, pulling some out and thumbing through them.  I decided that I HAVE to start cooking more from them.  So, my cooking goal this year is start going through them and cooking at least one recipe from each.  Some I know that I will spend more time cooking several recipes and those that I can’t find one single recipe to make, I will donate.  No sense keeping a book I won’t use ~ unless it’s it’s one of my really old, antiquey ones and then I’ll keep it.  I figured it will take me years to accomplish this since I will still be cooking from other sources.  At last count a few years ago, I had 1200 cookbooks.  I’m guessing it’s close to 1500 now but nobody tell Mr. Meat Eater, he’d have a stroke and then I’d have to point out his zillions of tools…  Anyway, I’ll be blogging for years!

So that’s my cooking goal for this year (and the next several years, LOL) ~ do you have any?    I like the word goal better ~ resolution just sets me up for failure for some reason.  Of course, I will continue with my usual goals of simplifying and reading 100 books this year.  We’ll see how it goes.

Something else I decided to do this year is to post only on weekdays and to give myself the weekends off.  I do much of my cooking on the weekends so this way I’ll have more to post during the week!

On to the recipe ~ I LOVE this recipe.  These muffins go with so many of the meals I make.  They are spicy but not terribly so ~ really flavorful and they are super easy to make.  I found this recipe on Food.com posted by my friend and former fellow host French Tart.  FT now longer participates on Food.com unfortunately and we miss her.

Spicy Corn Muffins

1 cup cornmeal
1 cup plain white flour
2 tbsps sugar
4 tsps baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
1 cup buttermilk
4 tbsps butter, melted
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/2 cup chopped jalapeno peppers ~ I use the chopped jalapenos in a jar

Heat oven to 400º and grease a muffin tin or put cupcake liners in the pan and spray them as well.

Mix all the dry ingredients together and then add the buttermilk, melted butter and the egg. Mix until all the ingredients are combined – do NOT over mix or the muffins will be tough.  Add the jalapeno peppers and mix gently again.

Spoon into muffin tin (I use an ice cream scoop so the muffins are roughly all the same size) and then bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until golden brown.

Makes 12 muffins.

Happy Cooking!

5 thoughts on “Spicy Corn Muffins

  1. I have hundreds of cookbooks, and I would love to know how you store them. Do you have pictures of your cookbooks? At the moment I have them stuffed on shelves or piled in closets, which doesn’t really help me much when I’m looking for a recipe! My current kitchen is galley style, unfortunately, but we’re hoping to remedy that with an addition sometime in the future, and I would love to have a space for my cookbooks. Any suggestions? 🙂

    • Organization is my problem and probably the reason I don’t use them as much as I should. Right now they are in several rooms, some in bookcases, some on the floor, some in closets. It’s a mess. My DH is turning our son’s old room into a library of sorts ~ building in bookcases ~ so that I can get them organized. I hate to tell him that I don’t think they will all fit. I guess there are worse things… I don’t have pictures but I will take some and post them so everyone can see my addiction!

Leave a Reply

