Brownie Holi-Pops ~ Land O’Lakes

Leave a comment

A couple of weeks ago, I was contacted by Land O’Lakes to see if I would let my readers know that their website had been redesigned and I jumped at the chance.  Why?  I LOVE Land O’Lakes products and use them all the time.  So I decided to make one of their recipes and blog about it instead of just telling you all that they had a new website.  Since I am such a procrastinator, it took me awhile.

I chose to make the brownie holi-pops because they are cute and I had never done anything like it before.  They are very easy to make although in my usual style ~ I did things my way.

They are DELICIOUS!

Brownie Holi-Pops from Land O’Lakes

Brownie Mixture:
3/4 cup butter, divided
3 (1-ounce) squares unsweetened baking chocolate, divided
1 cup sugar
3/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup powdered sugar

Coating:
16 ounces vanilla or chocolate-flavored candy coating (almond bark) ~ I used Wilton candy melts in white chocolate and light cocoa

40 lollipop sticks

Decorations:
Holiday nonpareils, jimmies and/or decorator candies

Heat oven to 350°.

Combine 1/2 cup butter and 2 ounces chocolate in 2-quart saucepan. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until melted (3 to 5 minutes). Add sugar, flour, eggs, vanilla and salt; mix well.

Spread batter evenly into greased 8-inch square baking pan. Bake for 23 to 27 minutes or until brownies just begin to pull away from sides of pan ~ mine took 25 minutes. Cool completely.

Melt remaining 1/4 cup butter and 1 ounce chocolate as above ~ I did it in the microwave.
Finely crumble cooled brownie into large bowl.

Add butter mixture and powdered sugar; mix well.

Shape mixture into 1-inch balls; place onto waxed paper-lined jelly-roll pan.

Cover with plastic food wrap; refrigerate until firm (at least 2 hours or overnight) ~ I left them in overnight.

Melt candy coating according to package directions; keep warm ~ I only used about 1/3 of each pkg. if that. Remove 1/3 of balls from refrigerator; insert lollipop sticks ~ I took them all out at th esame time and they didn’t soften up too much since I worked quickly to keep the chocolate from firming up. Dip balls into melted coating, swirling or tapping off excess; press coated balls into desired decorations. Push lollipop stick into craft foam or place coated balls onto waxed paper. Repeat with remaining balls. Let stand until coating is set.

I am freezing them until I am ready to give as gifts.

Makes 40 pops but I made around 30 since I made them a little bit bigger.

Don’t forget to visit Land O’Lakes and check out all their great recipes !!!!!!

Happy Cooking!

Leave a Reply

