Chipotle Chicken Wings

3 Comments

I found this recipe in a Pillsbury holiday magazine and the picture just looked so delicious that it went right on my list for party appetizers.  I like somewhat spicy and Mr. Meat Eater likes enough spice to make him sweat and it’s hard to come up with something we can both eat.  This recipe is not overly spicy but the heat is there.  It’s flavorful and I really like chipotles (chipotles are smoked jalapenos in case you don’t know) so I would have eaten it no matter what, LOL!  Our guests raved over them and I probably could have made double the amount and still run out.

My picture is not nearly as delicious looking as Pillsbury’s but I had to grab it before they were gone!

Chipotle Chicken Wings

2 pkgs chicken drummettes
3/4 cup chili sauce
3 tbsps brown sugar, packed
2 tbsps chopped chipotles in adobo sauce
1 tbsp grated lime peel
2 cloves garlic, minced

Heat oven to 375º and line a 13×9 pan with foil (the easy-off foil is great for this). Arrange drummettes in pan in a single layer.

Mix well all of the rest of the ingredients in a small microwaveable bowl. Microwave on HIGH for 1 minute or until the sugar is dissoved. Stir sauce well and pour over drummettes in the pan.

Bake for 30 minutes, turn drummettes over, and continue baking for 20 to 30 minutes longer or until glazed and cooked through entirely and no pink remains.

Makes about 20 appetizers but you may want to double recipe.

Happy Cooking!

 

3 thoughts on “Chipotle Chicken Wings

  1. i made them! i really liked the flavor, but i couldn’t find the chipotles in adobo and since we like it hot in this house i substituted hot cherry spread. I still added more hot sauce, my changes next time is to make a. more of the sauce b. somehow make the sauce thinner, and c. i’ll definately brown the wings next time because we like em cripsy. I also cooked these for much less time, about a half hour. maybe the extra time would have made them crisiper?

    • I like them on the crispy side too ~ nothing worse than a wimpy chicken wing. The longer baking does crisp them up to a “Nancy acceptable” level, LOL! I like your idea of browning first or maybe just tossing under the broiler for a few would do the trick.

  2. This may be what is for dinner tonight! I may bread and fry off my drummies first because hubby likes his wings breaded. Thanks nancy!

Leave a Reply

