Six Layer Dip

1 Comment

First, this picture is awful!  In my defense, I forgot to photograph it until it was half gone so there you have it, LOL!

I love layered Mexican dips but I don’t love refried beans so when I found this recipe, I knew it would become my favorite.  I also love that it uses fresh avocados instead of prepared avocado dip AND it can be made a little ahead without the avocados turning nasty and unappetizing colors.

Six Layer Dip

2 medium size ripe avocados
2 tbsps lemon juice
1/2 tbsp garlic salt
1/8 tsp hot pepper sauce ~ I use several shakes of Tabasco
1 cup sour cream ~ I use light
1 small can chopped black olives ~ I use a small can of sliced black olives
1 (16 oz) jar chunky salsa ~ I usually use medium heat salsa but use whatever you like
2 medium tomatoes, seeded and chopped
1 cup cheddar cheese ~ I use taco flavored

In a large bowl, mash the avocados with thelemon juice, garlic salt, and hot sauce. Spoon into a deep dish pie plate ~ mine is 9 inches ~ or a similar dish.

Layer the sour cream, olives, salsa, tomatoes and cheese on top of the avocado mixture.

Cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate for 1 hour before serving with tortilla chips.

Makes about 2 1/2 cups dip.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Six Layer Dip

Leave a Reply

