My Mom’s Easy Meatballs

4 Comments

My family has been using this recipe for as long as I can remember.  It’s not spicy at all but it is flavorful and holds it’s shape well in sauce.

I’ve also used this recipe and made *very* small meatballs for appetizers.  After cooking, I put them in a crockpot and mixed in the sauce.  These are also very easy to bake up and freeze for later use.

I’m sorry this picture is a little blurry :/

My Mom’s Easy Meatballs

1 lb ground beef
1/2 cup Italian seasoned breadcrumbs
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1 tablespoon chopped parsley
1 garlic cloves, minced
1/4 cup milk
2 eggs, beaten
salt and pepper

Mix all ingredients together and shape into balls ~ about the size of a golfball.

Brown the meatballs by placing in a shallow baking dish and baking at 350º for 15 minutes until golden brown.

Place hot meatballs into sauce and let simmer while your pasta cooks.

Here’s how I freeze the meatballs ~ I make them up and cook them as above. I let them cool a bit, place on a cookie sheet in the freezer and when they are frozen, transfer to a ziplock. I take out the amount I need for dinner and put them in a pan with a jar of sauce (or more depending on the number of meatballs I am cooking) and let them simmer for 30 minutes at least ~ no need to defrost them first ~ until they are heated through! Very simple!

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “My Mom’s Easy Meatballs

  1. NANCY! NO! Not a JAR of sauce! you mean a quart of your homemade italian gravy! lol No, more power to you, i can’t get away with jarred sauce in my house! very close to what i do but i use a veal/pork./beef mix.

      • LOL this is true. Mine is more spicy than my mom’s and my mom-in-law’s but my gram’s is my favorite- but i use her recipe! You just never know! I hear the Rao’s Jar is very good!

Leave a Reply

