Cooking a Prime Rib Roast for the Holidays

1 Comment

Wow!  December 1 already.  It doesn’t seem possible that this year has gone by so fast.  Remember when you were a kid and the days just seemed to drag…not so anymore.

Since Christmas and New Year’s is coming up, I thought I would post on how I make prime rib.  It is an expensive piece of meat but don’t let it intimidate you.  It’s really very easy to do.  If you google, you will find there are lots of ways to roast it, this is just how I do it.

My family likes it RARE ~ as in waaaay too red for me.  I like it medium rare.  I’ve been known to cut it in half in order to be able to cook each to the way I want it.  Usually, I just roast to rare and I eat the ends.

I think that prime rib has so much flavor that I keep seasonings to a minimum.  I usually just salt and pepper.  Sometimes I cut slits in the meat and stick in pieces of garlic but that’s about as far and I go.  If you like fresh herbs or Dijon mustard, those would be good, too.  I usually season just before it goes into the oven.  If you are using a boneless roast, use a rack.  If it’s a bone-in roast, use the bones as a rack.

I cook low and slow ~ a lower temperature for a longer time.  That’s what works for me.  I roast at 325º for about 20 minutes per pound.  It’s really important to use a meat thermometer so you’ll know exactly whether your roast is done to your liking.  Stick it in the middle of the roast, making sure it’s not touching bone or fat.  For rare, I like the temp to read130º-140º, for medium rare, I like it to be 145º-155º.  I’ve found that those are the temperatures that work for me in my ovens.  If the meat isn’t up to temperature, I just let it go a little longer and keep an eye on it.  I know the conventional wisdom says it keeps cooking after taking it out of the oven, but I have never had it go up more than a degree or two ~ definitely never 5 or more degrees.  I’ve checked! Your mileage may vary! You can google meat temperatures to get a chart for medium and well.  I would be voted off the island if I let meat get to medium or well, LOL!

The end slices will be done the most and the middle the least so you should be able to please everyone.

I usually serve with a horseradish sauce and sometimes I defat the dripping and serve with that.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Cooking a Prime Rib Roast for the Holidays

Leave a Reply

