Shrimp Alfredo

4 Comments

This recipe is really easy ~ easy enough to make on a weeknight if you feel like it.

Shrimp Alfredo

12 ounces pasta ~ use your favorite
1/4 cup butter
2 tbsps extra virgin olive oil
1 onion diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 red bell pepper, diced
2 large portobello mushrooms, gills and stems removed and diced
1 pound large shrimp
1 (15 ounce) jar Alfredo sauce
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
1/2 cup cream
1 tsp cayenne pepper
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley

Cook pasta according to package directions; drain; set aside.

While the pasta is cooking, melt butter together with the olive oil in a large pan over medium heat. Stir in onion and cook about 2 minutes. Stir in garlic, red bell pepper, and mushrooms and cook until soft, about 2 more minutes.

Stir in the shrimp and cook until firm and pink. Pour in Alfredo sauce, Parmesan, and cream. Bring to a simmer, stirring constantly, until thickened, about 5 minutes. Season with cayenne, salt and pepper.

Stir in pasta and serve sprinkled with parsley.

Makes 6 servings.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Shrimp Alfredo

  1. This was good. I’m not good at following recipes so I guessimated my measurements. I used canned mushrooms so I added it after the shrimp cooked. I also added a touch of white wine at the same time. I feed guys so I added a little more shrimp. The dish was good everyone liked it. But next time I make this I’ll use half and half instead of cream.

Leave a Reply

