Lemon Muffins

2 Comments

I baked these delicious lemon-y gems quite some time ago and forgot all about them.  They are easy to make and nice and lemony.  I’ve seen this recipe all over the internet and decided it was time to make them and I’m glad I did ~ there is also a recipe floating around out there that uses the same basic recipe (a few differences) and makes a loaf of quick bread.

Lemon Muffins

Muffins

1 3/4 cups flour
3/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon lemon zest, grated
1 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
6 ounces lemon yogurt
2 tbsps sour cream
1 eggs
6 tablespoons butter, melted
1 tablespoon lemon juice

Glaze
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons lemon zest

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Grease or spray muffin pan with pam.  Don’t use paper liners as the muffins soak up for glaze if not in liners.

Mix together dry ingredients in a large bowl and make a well in the center. In a separate bowl mix together wet ingredients.
Pour wet ingredients in to the well of the dry and stir together gently until there are no flour streaks, it’s ok if there are some lumps.

Bake 20 minutes, edges should get just a little brown, test as usual.

While muffins are baking, prepare glaze.

Glaze ~ mix glaze ingredients together in a small saucepan over medium heat, stir until sugar dissolves and mixture simmers slightly. Keep warm low heat.

As soon as muffins are removed from the oven poke each one several times with a skewer, then spoon glaze over the muffins, using up all of it.

Makes 12 muffins

Happy Cooking!

2 thoughts on “Lemon Muffins

  1. Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored at work so I decided to browse your site on my iphone during lunch break. I enjoy the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m surprised at how quick your blog loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, superb blog!

Leave a Reply

