Portobello Bake

1 Comment

Mushrooms are one of my very favorite foods and I will eat them just about any way.  This recipe is easy and, of course, I tweaked it some from the original.  I found it on food.com posted by Dreamer in Ontario.

In the picture, I have sliced them into strips and I really think it looks like meat on my plate.  I served it with quinoa salad .

Portobello Bake

1/2 cup almonds
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/2 cup water
2 tbsps balsamic vinegar
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp dried oregano
6 large portobello mushrooms, stems removed, wiped clean and gills removed if desired
1 small onion, diced

Preheat oven to 350º.

In a food processor, grind almonds until powdered. Add the oil, soy sauce, water, vinegar, garlic, oregano and process until well blended. I used my mini chopper with no problems.

Place mushrooms in a baking pan upside down (stem side up) in one layer. Sprinkle the onions over the mushrooms and pour the sauce over the top.

Bake, uncovered, for 30 to 35 minutes or until the mushrooms are tender.

To serve, slice into slices ~ one mushroom per person.

Makes 6 servings.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Portobello Bake

  1. Oh my! This looks like a keeper! Will have to give it a try as soon as I go shopping again! My husband loves anything mushroom. Keep up the good work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

