Quinoa Salad

8 Comments

This recipe is so easy and delicious and it would be perfect for a potluck or a party because it makes a big salad.  I left out the red bell peppers because I’m not a fan of them raw and I made a few other adjustments.  The vinaigrette is perfect for the salad.  I was a little leary of the maple syrup but it works.  You can always use your favorite vinaigrette or even a bottled one.

I found both recipes on food.com/formerly Recipezaar posted by magpie diner.

Quinoa Salad

Salad:
1/2 cup peas, fresh or frozen (I used frozen and did not cook them)
3 cups cooked quinoa
1 cup red bell pepper, diced
1/4 cup green onions, thinly sliced
1/2 cup cucumber, diced (I used 1/2 of a cucumber)
3 tbsps chopped fresh parsley
1/4 tsp sea salt

Dressing:
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1 tsp Dijon mustard
1/2 tsp sea salt
black pepper, to taste
1 1/2 tbsps real maple syrup, do not use pancake topping only real maple syrup
5 tbsps olive oil

In a large bowl, combine all of the salad ingredients and toss to combine. If serving immediately, add about 1/2 cup dressing and serve. If not serving immediately, put salad and dressing in refrigerator separately and add the dressing just before serving. The quinoa will soak up quite a bit of dressing so you may need to keep adding a bit.

Dressing:
Using a stick blender or a small food processor, mix everything except for the oil. With blender running, slowly add the oil in a steady stream.

Makes 6 to 8 servings

Happy Cooking!

8 thoughts on “Quinoa Salad

  1. Followed the link from justafrugalfoodie. Thankful I did. Delightful blog!! I also collect cookbooks. Don’t have 1200, but I have about 400 with 126 being mid-century cookbooks, (my specialty!) I look forward to more wonderful recipes. We are having this tonight!

    • I love meeting other cookbook collectors! I have a friend here on wordpress that is blogging her way through her cookbooks by only cooking whatever recipe is on page 32. It’s great!

  2. Nancy, thank you so much for this recommendation! It was our first time eating Quinoa and it went absolutely perfect with our Salmon. I’ve posted about it and referenced back to here for your deserving credit. We are now Quinoa Converts!

  3. Pingback: Simple Perfection…Maple-Mustard Glazed Salmon over Maple-Mustard Quinoa Salad | Where Frugality and Food Collide with Delicious Consequences

  4. I took a food class at the VaB farmers’ market. They said quinoa is one of the healthiest things to eat. Would green peppers work instead of red? This looks like it would be good with cherry tomatoes and shredded carrots too.

    • I just don’t like raw bell pepper too much so I usually leave it out but any color would work here. I think this would be a great salad to throw in whatever is hanging around!

Leave a Reply

