Gluten-Free Bread Mix

4 Comments

I bought the King Arthur Flour package of GF bread mix at my local Harris Teeter.  It was pricey ($6.95, I think) and not something I would do all the time but I wanted to try it.  I’m not sure if gluten is specifically my problem but it won’t hurt to do with less of it and this seemed like a good thing to try.

I followed the directions on the back of the box making sure my eggs were at room temp.  It was really pretty easy to mix together.

I am not the neatest person when it comes to putting bread in the pan and this was no exception.

I’m always surprised when bread rises like it supposed to.

The final product

What did I think of it?  The flavor was great!  It smelled just like regular bread when it was baking and the taste was just like regular bread.  The texture threw me.  It was on the wet side which I am assuming was because there was no gluten to make it fluffy.  I’m not sure that I can get past that but I think with time it won’t bother me quite as much so I will be trying other GF recipes in the future.  I will be making (trying, rather) to make bread crumbs with a few of the slices and putting them in the freezer.  I’m anxious to see how that works.

All in all, the bread was a success and if you have to depend on GF, this mix would would great.  Give it a try!

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Gluten-Free Bread Mix

  1. I noted that you said, ” I’m anxious to see how that works.”
    Why would you be anxious, Nancy? It sounds like it would work very well. I wouldn’t be anxious at all. I’d be EAGER!

    Try it and let us know!

Leave a Reply

