It’s a Monday…

4 Comments

After spending a couple of days last week not feeling good, I finally came to the realization that I HAVE to change up my diet some.   I think gluten is becoming a problem and red meat has been a problem since surgery last year.

While I’m not going totally gluten-free, I am switching over to gluten-free breads or avoiding bread altogether and I’ll be paying attention to labels now more than I have in the past.  Just a quick glance through my pantry and I see several gluten-free items in there already.  If that makes a difference, then I’ll go in for testing to be sure but I can almost guarantee it’s a problem.  I already put in an order for King Arthur Flour’s gluten-free flour and a few other items so I’ll be testing those in the future and I’ll report back here with recipes!  I love to bake so I’m looking forward to trying these products out.  I bought a King Arthur gluten-free bread mix at my local Harris Teeter and I think I’ll try making it today.  I’ll be back with a review in the next couple of days.

I am also going to be trying to cut red meat out of my diet as much as I can.  DH is a red meat kind of guy but he said whatever I make will be fine ~ gotta love him!  So, chicken, fish, and veggie meals are what I’ll be working on.

Once I get everything on a sort of even keel, I’ll start up with the menus again.  In the meantime, here is a rerun of a recipe I made quite often after surgery.  I love this recipe!!

Stuffed Portobellos

1 small yellow sweet pepper, cut in thin strips
1 small red onion. chopped
1 medium zucchini, coarsely shredded
1 carrot, shredded
1 stalk celery, sliced thin
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 to 3 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp fresh basil, chopped
1 tbsp lemon juice
1 (5 ounce) pkg fresh baby spinach
1/2 cup plain bread crumbs
1/2 cup finely shredded fresh Parmesan cheese
4 (4-5 inch) portobello mushroom caps, stems and gills removed
4 slices provolone cheese

Preheat oven to 425º and line a cookie sheet with foil (the non-stick foil works great).

In a large skillet, cook and stir the yellow pepper, onion, zucchini, carrot, celery, and garlic in the hot olive oil over medium-high heat for approx. 4 minutes. Stir in the basil, lemon juice and 1/4 tsp each salt and pepper. Top with spinach and cover. Cook for 2 minutes or until the spinach is wilted. Remove from the heat and stir in the crumbs and half of the Parmesan into the spinach/veggie mixture and set aside.

Arrange mushrooms, stemmed side up on the prepared pan. Top each with a slice of provolone. Divide spinach mixture among the mushrooms.

Bake 15 minutes (mushrooms may get a little watery but I didn’t have this problem). Top with remaining Parmesan and bake for 2 more minutes or until heated through.

Makes 4 servings.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “It’s a Monday…

  1. I hope you figure it out. I had to go GF over a year ago, and while the road isn’t easy, it’s navigable. I’m sure that you’ve looked up all the ingredients to steer clear of and there are great resources out there. Let us know how it goes and best of luck!

  2. As I scrolled through this post, I was more and more intrigued. We eat meat, but several of our friends are vegetarian and I am on the lookout for maindishes that I can fix for them. The flavors look fantastic and the photo convinced me!

Leave a Reply

