A Complete Disaster (and a Recipe)!

3 Comments

So I made my menu for the week and shopped accordingly.  That is where all my great plans ended.  I made a couple of things on my menu and that’s it.  Everything went into the freezer.  Part of my problem is that I read several cookbooks and cooking magazines a week and I see all these great  things I want to make.  Then I toss my menu overboard and make something completely different.

So I am going to tweak it a little bit.  I am going to make a menu for a few days at a time.  That way I can add new things without much trouble.  At lease I HOPE that’s how it works.  You’ll still be able to follow along but the menus will be shorter.  We’ll see how it goes…

I DID make the “Almost” Nutri-Grain Bars.  I did not like them at all and they didn’t taste anything like nutri-grain bars.  I was really disappointed as I had so much hope for them.  I am not going to post the recipe since I don’t want anyone to waste their ingredients.

Up for tonight’s dinner is Chicken Tortilla Soup which I LOVE!  It’s one of my all-time favorites.  The recipe comes from Food.com/formerly Recipezaar and is one of the recipes from there that I make the most.  I’ve posted about this recipe before ~ it is definitely a keeper! I make mine a little differently so the directions are how I do it. I also leave out the corn since DH hates corn and add a can of drained and rinsed black beans.

Valerie Marie’s Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup

Valerie Marie’s Amazing Tortilla Soup

2 teaspoons olive oil
1 medium onion, chopped
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 medium jalapeno pepper, chopped ~ I have also used a can of chopped green chilies
1/2 medium green pepper
4 small boneless skinless chicken breasts, cooked and meat shredded
2 cups frozen corn
1/2 cup dry white wine or 1/2 cup water
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
4 (14 ounce) cans chicken broth
2 (14 ounce) cans diced tomatoes
2 (8 ounce) cans tomato sauce
Tortilla strips

Sauté onion, garlic, jalapeno and green pepper with olive oil in a large pot until soft. Add all the rest of the ingredients to the large pot and bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer an additional 45 minutes.

Serve, topped with tortilla strips or crushed tortilla chips, if desired.

Makes 6-8 servings.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “A Complete Disaster (and a Recipe)!

  1. It doesn’t matter if you aren’t following the menu plan. Just keep the recipes coming! : ) Too hot for soup here, too. Still 100’s!

  2. I have many versions of this lovable soup, and I am going to have to wait to try yours. It still is in the 90’s here. I am so ready for the fall!

Leave a Reply

