Weekly Menu for August 20 ~ 26

6 Comments

My first menu posting!  What I thought I would do is to post my menu and then as I make the dishes during the week, post the pictures and the recipes.  I can also total up what I spend weekly and try to break it down but I am mathematically challenged so don’t expect anything ground-breaking, LOL!

My sale flyers come out on Wednesday but I have noticed that the stores are well-stocked on Thursdays and Fridays so that’s when I do my shopping.  I shop anywhere from one store to four stores depending on what I want.  A middle-of-the-road priced store, a high-end store, BJ’s, and the Dollar Grocery store.  I try to keep costs down by cooking from scratch but I love to cook and if I want to make something, I usually do.

If I have already posted the recipe, I’ll link to it here.  The one thing I love about bloggers posting their menus is that I can just pick and choose what will work for me and my family.  Before I forget ~ I never plan a certain meal for a certain day unless it’s a special occasion or a Friday.   Fridays are burgers or homemade pizza day.   I just come up with seven meals and then I cook whichever one I feel like on one of the days during the week.  I found that if I assign meals, I don’t make them. This menu is all dinner recipes. Eventually I will post weekend breakfast and lunch menus, too. During the week I don’t cook either one. I also want to post one “homemade instead of storebought” recipe and I will start with the “almost nutri-grain” bars and homemade rice-a-roni. I’ve never made them before so I critique them for you all.  If this doesn’t seem to work after a few weeks, I’ll change it up 🙂

Now, to be able to print you can either highlight the recipe (or the whole post plus pictures), click on print, click selection, click print.  You can also copy and paste to Notepad or a Word document and print it from there.  Then you won’t get all the extra stuff in the sidebar.

This week’s menu has several of my son’s favorites.  He is transferring to Seaworld Orlando and leaves on Monday.  Sad for me because I won’t see him too much but also happy because Orlando is one of my favorite places on earth!   I already have two trips in the planning stages so maybe I WILL see him more down there than I do here, LOL!

So, in no particular order, here is my menu for the upcoming week starting today and several of the recipes are new to me so we’ll see how that goes:

Menu for August 20 ~ 26

1. Grilled pizza, Greek salad, chocolate pie
2. Marinated flank steak with horseradish sauce, potato leek gratin, veg
3. Burgers, homemade tater tots
4. Chicken tortilla soup with homemade tortilla strips, Mexican salad
5. Drunken pot roast, mashed potatoes, peas
6. Parmesan and herb chicken strips (baked), homemade rice-a-roni, veg
7. Polynesian chicken, pineapple fried rice, stir-fried veg

Some other things I will be making this week and fitting them in:

“Almost” nutri-grain bars (fro breakfast during the week)
Blue cheese dressing
Roasted mushrooms (probably with the flank steak)
Grilled herb & garlic bread

Happy Cooking!

6 thoughts on “Weekly Menu for August 20 ~ 26

  1. WOW! What great recipes you have planned for the week ahead.Looks fantastic, better than some that I have seen. You have really taken care with your planning. When do we get to see the recipes??? or am I missing something???

  2. I think planning out a menu really helps with grocery shopping and staying away from eating out!!! I love when my son helps me out with the meal planning. If you ever go visit your son, let me know, I’m only a few hours away!

  3. Thanks for doing this! I appreciate seeing your yummy recipes and the meal plan will certainly be a help to me! I enjoy seeing what other people eat on a regular basis, because I tend to really get stuck in a rut. I try to cook with organic, locally grown ingredients, but I don’t exclusively limit myself to them, and most recipes can be adapted anyway. Also, I’m quite limited in budget, so cooking from scratch can help out with that a lot. I grind my own grain, so that helps, too. Anyway, I do appreciate your blog, and am excited about the new direction you’re taking. Sorry this is my first comment! 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your great comment! I think it will help me as well to keep up with my menu plan instead of wasting food!

  4. Pingback: Tweets that mention Weekly Menu for August 20 ~ 26 « A Recipe A Day -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

