Hot Enough For Ya?

3 Comments

If I heard that question once over the past week, I heard it a million times!  YES, IT IS HOT ENOUGH!!!!  When the temp hits 112º without the heat index added, it’s HOT.

We did not cook much at all over the past week or so ~ neither one of us felt like eating.  Our AC didn’t even feel like it was AC’ing the house.   Actually, just thinking about food made my stomach turn so we just picked all week.  Posts will be spotty until I get back into the swing of things!

Today, it’s in the 80’s and I’m freezing ~ there is just no middle ground with me, LOL!

We love this recipe.  I posted it about 2 years ago and it’s one of favorites and we’ll be having it this week sometime.  You can put it together in a ziplock bag and toss in the freezer ~ I usually do this then pull it out the night before and defrost in the fridge.

We lived in Hawaii for 3 years and I managed to pick up a few really good recipes. Kalbi is one of our favorites and it was my go-to recipe when we lived there. You will need to buy beef short ribs cut flanken-style which is cut across the bones. They will be flat with three pieces of bone at the top. Kalbi is a Korean dish but I added to the name to remind me of the time we lived there.

Kalbi, Hawaiian-Style

2-3 lbs short rib of beef
3/4 cup soy sauce
3/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup water
3 inches piece fresh ginger, sliced
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tablespoon sesame oil

Combine all ingredients and marinate ribs for 4 hours. Broil or barbecue to desired degree of doneness.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “Hot Enough For Ya?

  1. It was a good base. I seasoned and seared the ribs first. I also added an additional 1/2 cup of soy and another 1/4 cup of brown sugar. I also threw mine in a slow cooker.

Leave a Reply

