Pan~Sized Potato Pancake

3 Comments

Awhile back, I saw someone make this recipe on the Food Network and thought that it looked easy.  Well, me being me, I promptly forgot about it.  Until  today.  Trying to decide on a side dish for steak, all my neurons were firing and I remembered this recipe.  It’s fairly easy ~ the hardest thing is flipping it out of the pan to turn it over.  As long as you are careful, it should go OK.  I cut mine with a pizza cutter and it worked perfectly.

I found that the 2 tbsps of oil and butter was a bit too much for me so I would cut that down a bit the next time I make this.

Pan~Sized Potato Pancake

2 tbsps vegetable oil
2 tbsps butter
2 large russet potatoes, peeled and grated
Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
2 tbsps chopped fresh parsley, optional

In a nonstick 10 inch pan, heat the butter and oil together over medium heat.

Press the potatoes into the pan and season with the salt and pepper. Let this cook undisturbed for about 8 to10 minutes.

Carefully flip the pancake onto a plate and slide it back in the pan so the uncooked side is down. Season this side with salt and pepper. Cook this side for another 8 to 10 minutes or until pancake is cooked through and browned.

Cut into wedges, sprinkle with parsley if desired and serve.

Makes 4 servings.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “Pan~Sized Potato Pancake

  1. I made the same thing and use them as a base in my chicken caesar salad. My baby just loves this potato cake with ketchup. It really does taste good.

Leave a Reply

