Eggs Benedict Casserole

4 Comments

Eggs Benedict is one of my very favorite dishes on earth.  If I go out for breakfast and they serve it, that’s what I have.   However, it’s one of those things I HATE making at home so I am always on the hunt for easy recipes to make that taste like it without going to all the trouble of making hollandaise, yada, yada, yada.  So, if you are an eggs benedict purist, this post probably won’t appeal to you but if you are like me, you’ll love this dish.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

8 slices Canadian bacon
1 (8 ounce) pkg. shredded Swiss cheese
8 eggs
1 pint heavy cream ~ You may need less; I use almost the whole pint
grated Parmesan cheese
4 English muffins, split and toasted

Spray a 9×13 pan lightly and place the bacon over the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle the Swiss cheese over the bacon. I make a little “nest” out of the cheese after I sprinkle it on. Break an egg over each little “nest”. Pour the cream gently over the eggs so that only the yolks show.

Bake at 350º for 15 minutes. Sprinkle the Parmesan over the top and bake for an additional 15 minutes. Your oven make not take as long on the second baking so start checking after 10 minutes. You want the whites cooked and the yolks a little runny (or hard if you like them that way).

Place toasted English muffins on plates. Using a spatula, carefully scoop out an egg/bacon and place on each muffin. Salt and pepper to taste and serve.

Makes 4 servings.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “Eggs Benedict Casserole

  1. Went with Karen’s version but cooked the eggs 12 minutes for a more over-medium version. That worked best for the family. Very good, the parmesean really adds a good flavor.

  2. thanks, great recipe!
    I made it and loved it. My bacon was just cooked while my yolks were fully cooked, so I would do a few things different next time…
    1. cut the bacon into halves or thirds ( will be easier to serve) and layer in pan and bake alone for 10 min
    2. add cheese, nest w/egg & cream for 10 min
    3. add parm cheese for last 10 min.
    I loved the swiss, but my kids want me to try it with american. I suppose I could do half and half

Leave a Reply

