Chicken Cacciatore

Leave a comment

Gooseberry Patch has a contest running on their blog and I decided to give it a whirl ~ especially since I was going to make this recipe for dinner tonight.

Here are the contest rules:

Step 1: Make something yummy from one of our cookbooks.

Step 2: Before you & your family enjoys the dish, ask a helper to snap
a picture of you, the food and our book. Then…

Step 3: Post the photo on YOUR blog.

Step 4: Come back here before tonight at midnight, EST and tell us
where to find your photo.

I just noticed that I’m supposed to be in the picture, too.  Oh well.

I made a recipe from 101 Slow Cooker Recipes .   The recipe is super easy which as you all know, is my favorite thing.  Just toss in the ingredients and go.  It was submitted to Gooseberry Patch by Mary Whitacre or Mount Vernon, Ohio.

I did make a couple of small changes.  I used half the amount of vegetables called for in the recipe ~ just personal preference. There really is enough sauce to use four boneless chicken breast halves.

Chicken Cacciatore
Submitted to Gooseberry Patch by Mary Whitacre

1 lb. boneless chicken breast halves
26 ounce jar chunky garden vegetable spaghetti sauce (I used Prego brand)
1 zucchini, chopped
1 green pepper, chopped (I used half)
1 onion, chopped (I used half)
Cooked pasta, such as rotini or penne
Parmesan cheese, for garnish

Place chicken in slow cooker. Pour the spaghetti sauce over the top. Add the vegetables. Cover and cook on LOW for 6 to 8 hours.

Serve over pasta, garnishing with Parmesan if desired.

Makes 4 servings.

Happy Cooking!

Nancy
(I’m on my laptop and don’t have my siggy on this computer)

Leave a Reply

