A BIG, Zesty Sandwich

1 Comment

I was not in the mood to cook over the weekend and came across this recipe and it was just perfect for lunch.

This makes a BIG sandwich ~ I’m guessing it would feed 6-8 making it perfect for a picnic or tailgating.  I would think you could switch up the meats and cheese to make it your own ~ in fact I used provolone.  I also think a little bit of red onion would add to the flavor.

A Big, Zesty Sandwich

1 round loaf of sourdough bread ~ I used Italian
1/4 cup red wine vinegar
4 slices Gouda cheese ~ I used Provolone
5 slices Genoa salami ~ I used hard salami
1/3 lb. smoked deli turkey, sliced thin ~ I used oven roasted turkey
1/3 lb. Black Forest deli ham, thinly sliced ~ I used honey ham
1 1/2 cups shredded iceberg lettuce
2 tomatoes, peeled and chopped
1/3 cup red wine vinegar and olive oil salad dressing

Cut the bread in half and hollow the top and bottom piece leaving a little bread.

Drizzle 2 tbsps red wine vinegar over the top and 2 tbsps over bottom. Layer the cheese, the salami, the turkey and the ham. Place the lettuce and tomatoes in a bowl and toss with the salad dressing; then place on top of the ham. Place the top of the bread over the lettuce/tomato combo and press down. Wrap tightly in plastic wrap and place in the fridge for 4-10 hours.

Cut into wedges and place a toothpick in each wedge to hold together.

Makes 6-8 servings.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “A BIG, Zesty Sandwich

  1. Pingback: Recipe #1 « Flying By the Seat of My Pants

Leave a Reply

