Jam Thumbprints

3 Comments

I really have not done much baking for the holiday at all.  My daughter has done most of it and will be bringing it home with her on Thursday.  It seems funny but nice at the same time.

I think I finally have my Christmas menu nailed down ~ breakfast and dinner.  Since beef and I have this love/hate relationship since I had my gall bladder out, I am making a prime rib AND a ham.  Recipes will be posted after Christmas!

I made thumbprint cookies last year but decided to change the recipe this year and I LOVE this recipe.  It mixed up easily and just worked out great.

Jam Thumbprints

1 3/4 cups flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup butter, softened
2/3 cup sugar
1 egg
1 tsp vanilla
1/3 cup red jam (I used a raspberry, blueberry, strawberry combo jam)

Preheat oven to 350º. Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Whisk the flour, baking powder and salt together in a bowl.

In another bowl, beat the butter and sugar together until it is fluffy. Beat in the egg and vanilla until combined. Slowly beat in the dry ingredients in two additions, mixing until just incorporated.

Scoop dough into 1-inch balls and roll in sugar. Place about 2 inches apart on the baking sheets. Press a thumbprint into the center of each ball. Fill indent with 3/4 tsp jam.

Bake cookies 10-15 minutes ~ you really need to check to make sure they don’t overbake. Mine baked for 10 minutes and were perfect. Cool on cookie sheets.

Makes about 24 to 30 cookies depending on size.

Happy Cooking!

3 thoughts on “Jam Thumbprints

  1. Okay, this recipe doesn’t look hard at all! I always assumed these cookies were impossible to make! I’m excited to give these a try!!! Can I use preserves instead of jam? I only ask because that’s what I’ve got here at the house, and I’m not shopping this week.

Leave a Reply

