Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

1 Comment

When I was looking for ways to use up the leftover topping from the bruschetta I came upon this recipe over at allrecipes.  I like chicken alfredo but I don’t like too much added to it but this recipe would work and instead of adding the Roma tomatoes at the end, I just spooned some of the leftover topping over the top before serving.  Worked like a charm and tasted fantastic.

I used all low fat or fat free products and it worked great so don’t worry about using them in this recipe.  The original recipe served eight but I scaled it down to four and I think it might actually serve five ~ especially if you don’t have huge eaters at the table.

Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

3 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, cut into cubes (I used chicken tenderloins cut in half)
3 tbsps. butter, divided (I found I needed more butter)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 tsps Italian seasoning
1/2 pound fettuccine
1/2 onion. diced (I used one whole small onion)
1/2 (8 ounce) pkg sliced mushrooms (I used the whole pkg.)
2 tbsps and 2 tsps flour
1 tsp salt
1/2 tsp white pepper
1 1/2 cups milk (I used 2%)
1/2 cup half and half (I used fat free)
1/4 cup and 2 tbsps grated Parmesan cheese
1/4 pound shredded Colby-Monterey Jack cheese
1 1/2 Roma tomatoes, diced
1/4 cup sour cream (I used lite)

In a large skillet, combine chicken, 1 1/2 tbsps butter, garlic and Italian seasoning. Cook over medium-high heat until chicken is no longer pink. Remove from pan and set aside.

Bring a large pot of water to boil and add the fettuccine. Cook as directed on package. Drain.

Meanwhile, melt rest of butter in the skillet and saute onion and mushrooms until onions are transparent. Stir in flour, salt and pepper and cook for 2 minutes. Slowly add the milk and half and half, stirring until smooth and creamy. Stir in both cheeses and stir until cheese is melted. Stir in the chicken mixture, tomatoes and sour cream.

Serve over cooked fettuccine.

Makes 4-5 servings.

Happy Cooking!

One thought on “Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

Leave a Reply

