French Dip Sandwiches

4 Comments

I love French Dip sandwiches and I’m always looking for a recipe that I really love ~ this one comes closest yet.  I like the beef to be a little salty with loads of flavor.  I don’t like putting all kinds of stuff on the bun except the meat and and some provolone and contrary to the name, I don’t dip them since I top the meat with some of the juice when it’s already on the bun.  I toast hoagie rolls and usually use provolone but I used horseradish cheddar for the sandwich in the picture.

It’s important to trim all the fat off the roast so the juice will not be fatty. This is a very easy crockpot recipe that I think you’ll love!

French Dip Sandwiches

French Dip Sandwiches

1 large onion, sliced
1 can beef broth
1 (4 lb) beef rump roast, trimmed of all fat
2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
1 (1 oz) pkg of Good Seasons Italian dressing mix
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper
Hoagie buns
Provolone slices

Place sliced onion in the bottom of the crockpot. Add the broth. Place beef on top of onions and pour the balsamic vinegar over the beef. Sprinkle the beef with the Italian dressing, salt and pepper.

Cover and cook on LOW for 8-10 hours.

When finished cooking, place beef on a cutting board and slice. Place slices back in the juice in the crockpot and mix it well.

When ready to serve, spoon pieces of beef onto bottom of buns, add the cheese and serve with the juices from the crockpot.

***I toast up my buns under the broiler, add the meat and cheese and stick back under the broiler until the cheese melts. Then I add a little more juice to the sandwich.

Makes 4-6 hoagie-sized sandwiches or more if you use smaller buns.

Happy Cooking!

4 thoughts on “French Dip Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

