Sugar-Free Blueberry Muffins

7 Comments

These muffins are very good ~ I bet you won’t even miss the sugar especially if your blueberries are are nice and sweet.  The muffins were very easy to make and I’ll be making them again since I am trying to eat as little added sugar as possible.

The recipe calls for fresh orange or tangerine juice so I used Simply Orange Juice since that’s what we drink.  There is a notation on the recipe that says that using frozen juice will make the muffins bitter. The walnut oil adds a nice touch.

SF Blueberry Muffins

Sugar-Free Blueberry Muffins

1 3/4 cups flour
1 tbsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsps cinnamon
1/2 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup walnut oil
3/4 cup fresh orange or tangerine juice
3 large eggs
2 cups fresh blueberries or unthawed frozen blueberries

Preheat oven to 375º. Grease a 12 cup muffin tin or use cupcake liners. I spray my liners with cooking spray, too, and it helps the papers to come off easily.

Combine the flour, baking powder, spices, and salt in a large bowl. I run a whisk through to combine it all.

In a measuring cup put the walnut oil and juice to equal 1 cup liquids.

Make a well in the flour mixture and break the eggs into the well and pour the liquids over the top. Mix all together for just about 1 minute until just combined. Using a spatula, fold in blueberries.

Spoon the bater into the muffin pan, filling cups to the rim. The recipe said it made 10 muffins but I was able to make 12. If you have some empty cups, fill halfway with water so the muffins bake evenly.

Bake for 20-25 minutes until a toothpick inserted in center of a muffin comes out clean. Do not overbake or the muffins will be dry.

Remove pan from oven and let cool on a rack for 5-20 minutes then remove muffins to a rack to cool to room temperature.

Store extra muffins in the freezer for up to 3 months.

Happy Cooking!

My Signature

7 thoughts on “Sugar-Free Blueberry Muffins

  1. Thank you for sharing this recipe! I tried it this afternoon, using regular oil and they turned out beautifully! The fresh-out-of-the-oven scent was just as delicious :) I really enjoy reading your posts, btw! ~Danii

    • They really taste just as good as full sugar muffins, don’t they? Thanks for trying the recipe and leaving your review ~ I really appreciate the feedback :)

  2. I was shocked at the cost of walnut oil. $12 for a 1 cup size bottle. Yikes!! I have been doing a bit of google research and I have found some info about nut oils and that you shouldn’t heat them because they lose their flavour. Do you think I could substitute another oil, or does it have to be walnut? Thanks!!

    • I found some for $7 and I thought that was bad ~ no way would I pay $12. I would try using canola since it’s basically tasteless and then add some chopped walnuts. Let me know if it works :)

  3. Nancy:

    Try using a product called Noble Tangerine Juice. You will never drink Simply Orange again. Through research I found out Orange Juice can have up to 10% Tangerine Juice in it without an ingredient declaration. The reasone they use TJ, color, Orange Juice is actually yellow, and TJ has a stronger, slightly sweeter flavor. By the way, I am a Food Scientist.

Leave a Reply

