Fresh Clams for Those Who Hate to Cook Clams (like ME!)

2 Comments

Well, I think I’m back!!    The past couple of days I have FINALLY felt more like myself.  Geez, who’d have thought getting rid of my gall bladder would send me into a metabolic nightmare?  Crazy!!!!!  I wish I had never had it removed.

On with the recipes….some of these were things that I made over the past couple of months and just getting around to posting.

I am NOT a clam lover by any means but DH and DD are so I decided to make them.  In fact, I don’t eat them at all.

This is a super easy way to cook them and, according to DH and DD, very tasty.  There’s very little fuss ~ which is good because I don’t even like looking at them, LOL!

Steamed Clams CW

Clams for Those Who Hate to Cook Clams

1 pound fresh clams
White wine
Minced garlic
Butter

Scrub the clams with a stiff brush. Throw away any clams that are not shut tight.

Melt about 2-3 tbsps. butter in a large skillet. Add a couple of cloves of minced garlic.

Add clams (do not crowd ~ you may have to do this more than once) and swoosh around so the shells are buttery/garlickly.

Add about 1/3 cup white wine to the pan and cover with a lid. Let steam for about 4 minutes.

Remove the lid and take out the opened clams. If there are a few that have not opened, I just toss them since there is a good chance they are bad ~ I don’t take chances with seafood. Do not overcook or they will become like shoe leather ~ or so I’m told.

I serve with extra garlic butter.

Happy Cooking!

My Signature

2 thoughts on “Fresh Clams for Those Who Hate to Cook Clams (like ME!)

Leave a Reply

