Homemade Potato Chips

5 Comments

Never made potato chips?  It’s really easy to do ~ the hardest part is not eating them all while you wait for the rest of them to cook!

First of all, you really could use any type of potato, including sweet potato, blue potatoes, etc.  You need a mandolin to make the thinnest slices of potatoes but I used the slicing side of a box grater before I got my mandolin.  The last time I made them, I seasoned half with sea salt and half with a garlic-herb mix I keep in my pantry.  The chips are really best if they are eaten within a few hours of cooking them ~ they do not store well as they get limp.

This recipe is so simple it’s embarrassing.

Chipps added 1

Homemade Potato chips

russet potatoes (at least 5 but as many as you want)
peanut oil
seasoning (your choice)

Heat peanut oil in an electric frying pan or deep fat fryer ~ I heat mine to 375º.

Wash and clean potatoes and peel if desired. Slice into super thin slices with a mandolin or the slicing side of a box grater. Place slices in a bowl of water to keep them from turning while you are slicing the other potatoes.

Once the oil is up to temperature, dry a bunch of slices off really well (if you don’t, the water will spatter and you’ll get burned) and slide them into the oil. Let them cook until nicely browned. Remove from the oil and drain on paper towels or brown paper bags. Season while they are still moist from the oil. Continue cooking in this manner until all the slices are cooked.

Makes 4 -5 servings using 5 potatoes.

Chips added 2

Happy Cooking!

My Signature

5 thoughts on “Homemade Potato Chips

  1. OK, I guess I need to get a mandoline 🙂 I followed you here from frugalvillage.com, thanks for leading me here! I did everything you said, except for the mandoline part. I tried slicing them on my box grater, but it didn’t come out right. The peices were not uniform at all. So I sliced them the best I could. Not good enough! LOL

    • I have a very inexpensive mandolin that I got at Target ~ it works great for what I use it for. It actually scares me since it’s so sharp, LOL!

Leave a Reply

