Pesto Stuffed Mushrooms

6 Comments

I found this recipe on the internet (cdkitchen, I think) quite awhile ago and it’s been sitting in my “to-try” pile.  I had some pesto in the fridge that I needed to use up so I finally tried the recipe.  It’s delicious!  It’s easy to make and would be perfect for a party or to have as a side dish like we did. I cut the recipe in half.

Pesto Musrooms Added

Pesto Stuffed Mushrooms

24 large mushrooms, cleaned and stems removed and saved for the stuffing
melted butter (a couple of tbsps should be enough)
additional 3 tbsps butter
2 tbsps minced onions
1 clove garlic, minced
3/4 cup pesto
1/4 cup breadcrumbs
melted butter (a couple of tbsps should be enough)
Parmesan cheese, optional

After removing stems from caps, brush mushrooms with the melted butter and place in a lightly greased pie plates or baking dish.

Mince the stems.

In a skillet, melt the butter and saute the stems, onions, and garlic until softened. Combine this mixture with the pesto and breadcrumbs, mixing well. Spoon the mixture into the caps, mounding it. Sprinkle with grated cheese if desired.

Bake at 400º for 10 to 15 minutes until tender and lightly browned. Serve immediately.

Makes 12 servings of 2 caps per serving.

Pesto Mushrooms 2 Added

Happy Cooking!

My Signature

6 thoughts on “Pesto Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. Yum! What a great stuffed mushroom recipe! I like switching up my pesto choice every once and a while to keep it interesting. You should try this stuffing with sundried tomato pesto on portabella mushroom caps, de-lish! Thanks for sharing.
    – Brittany

    • Sun-dried tomato pesto sounds so delicious! I took a quick peek at your blog ~ mushroom heaven!!!!!!!!!!!!! I bookmarked for later reading 🙂

Leave a Reply

