Mixed Veggie Casserole with Cheese

6 Comments

I spent the weekend getting my veggie garden put in ~ it’s almost done!

Very boring recipe name but really yummy casserole.  This recipe was in the magazines way back in the early 80s and I’ve been making it since.  It’s easy to make and fits in with almost any main dish.

I use the broccoli, cauliflower, carrot mix of veggies but you could use your favorites.  Also, it does use cream soup but I don’t see any reason why you couldn’t make your own and use that if you hate “cream of”  soups.  I also use a big can of the french fried onions since those are my favorite part.

swiss-veggie-casserole-added

Mixed Veggie Casserole with Cheese

1 (16 ounce pkg) mixed veggies, thawed
1 can cream of mushroom soup
1 cup shredded Swiss cheese
1 cup sour cream
1 (6 oz can) French-fried onions
pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 350º. Set aside 1/4 cup of the cheese and 1/4 cup of the onions.

Combine the veggies, soup, 3/4 of the cheese, sour cream, remaining onions, and pepper in a large bowl. Pour ingredients into a lightly greased 2 quart casserole dish.

Bake for 30 minutes and then prinkle the reserved cheese and onions over the top and continue baking for about 5 more minutes or until the cheese has melted.

Happy Cooking!

my-signature11

6 thoughts on “Mixed Veggie Casserole with Cheese

  1. I am going to try this tonight (05/07/09) with the added variation of substituting my own fresh veggies and 2 cups of diced ham, and serve it over cooked noodles.

  2. Lucky! Its not garden planting weather for another month here.

    I have never have a french fried onions. Gonna add them to my grocery list.

Leave a Reply

