Super Easy Pizza Sauce

4 Comments

I love this sauce recipe and it’s what I use when I make pizza.  It freezes very well and I usually double or triple it when I do make it so I always have some in the freezer.  I use it with my Pizza Dough (Bread Machine) recipe.  We don’t like too much sauce on our pizzas so this amount would probably cover three pizzas but using it normally, I would say it covers two pizzas.

pizza-sauce-added

Easy Pizza Sauce

2 (10.75 ounce) cans of tomato puree
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp black pepper
1 tsp Italian seasoning

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan over medium heat. When the sauce begins to bubble, reduce the heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring often. Remove from heat and let cool.

Store in the refrigerator or use immediately. It can also be frozen.

Makes about 1 1/2 cups pizza sauce.

Happy Cooking!

my-signature4

4 thoughts on “Super Easy Pizza Sauce

    • No. For this recipe, you really need the tomato puree. It’s thicker than tomato sauce but not as thick as tomato paste. It’s very plain until you add the spices. It’s perfect to use in sauces. In my grocery store, tomato puree is usually on a lower shelf by the all the tomato products.

Leave a Reply

