Shrimp and Crab Chowder

8 Comments

Chowders just seem to hit the spot, don’t they?  This one is easy and I actually made it for lunch yesterday.  I used fake krab in my effort to use lower fat products and it worked great. I also decided to leave the peel on the red potatoes because I like the way it looks.  The recipe calls for 5 potatoes, diced,  but I found that three were plenty.

seafood-chowder-added

Shrimp and Crab Chowder

1 pound medium fresh shrimp, peeled and deveined
1/2 pound fresh crabmeat or fake krab
1 onion, chopped
3 garlic cloves, minced
2 celery ribs, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
2 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 cup dry white wine or chicken broth
1 (8-oz.) bottle clam juice
3 red potatoes, peeled and diced, use up to 5 if you want
1 tablespoon Old Bay seasoning
1/2 cup heavy cream or half and half
Garnish: chopped fresh parsley, I used fresh cracked black pepper instead

Sauté onion, garlic, and celery in hot oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat 8 minutes or until tender. Stir in flour, and cook, stirring constantly, 1 minute. Stir in broth and next 4 ingredients. Bring to a boil; cover, reduce heat, and simmer, stirring occasionally, 30 minutes or until potatoes are tender.

Stir in shrimp, crabmeat, and heavy cream or half and half. Cook over low heat 5 minutes or just until shrimp turn pink.

Garnish, if desired.

Makes 6-8 servings.

Happy Cooking!

my-signature14

8 thoughts on “Shrimp and Crab Chowder

  1. Hi Nancy,

    I scoured the internet for a simple, fast lower fat shrimp and chowder recipe that didn’t call for a bunch of vegetables (like corn) and fancy ingredients like clarified butter. Yours was the first one I saw that appealed to me. I have everything in my kitchen right now aside from the crusty hunk of bread I’d like to have along with it. Saving me a trip to the store means the world to me! I’m making it tomorrow night. I shall come back and post how wonderful I am sure it will be! Thank you.

  2. Pingback: Seafood Chowder Recipe

Leave a Reply

