Chocolate Chip Cookies

5 Comments

What’s the big deal about chocolate chip cookies, you ask.  First, I love them.  Second, they are easy to make.

I always make the Toll House recipe but I was looking for something a little different and found this recipe on King Arthur Flour.  I only use KA flour since I think good flour does make a difference when baking.  I love their website and have spent more than my share of money there over the years.  Every recipe I have ever tried has come out well.

Back to the recipe.  I have a confession to make first.  I REALLY like the Pillsbury chocolate chip cookies (comes in a tube) but I won’t buy them because of price and all those chemicals.  This recipe really reminds me of those cookies and when I’m jonesin for Pillsbury chocolate chips, I’ll make these instead.

chocolate-chips-added

Chocolate Chip Cookies

2/3 cup light brown sugar, firmly packed
2/3 cup sugar
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup vegetable shortening (Crisco)
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon vinegar, cider or white
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 large egg
2 cups flour
2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375°. Lightly grease (or line with parchment) two baking sheets.

In a large bowl, combine the sugars, butter, shortening, salt, vanilla  extracts, vinegar, and baking soda, beating until smooth and creamy.

Beat in the egg, beating till smooth. Scrape the bottom and sides of the bowl with a spatula to make sure everything is thoroughly combined.

Mix in the flour, then the chocolate chips.

Scoop 1 1/4″ balls of dough onto the prepared baking sheets, leaving 2″ between them on all sides so they can spread.

Bake the cookies for 11 to 12 minutes. I baked mine for 10 minutes in my convection oven and they were perfect.

Remove them from the oven, and cool on the pan until they’ve set enough to move without breaking or smooshing. Repeat with the remaining dough.

Makes about 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

Happy Cooking!

my-signature13

5 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Thank you for mentioning King Arthur Flour. Have you see the recipe on our blog where you refrigerate your cookie dough over night before you bake? Even greater flavor. Nice pictures on your blog. Joan@Bakershotline

  2. I think I have baked at least one batch of “chippers” every week for the past … oh dear … 26 years.

    My dad loves them. And being my father he passes them out to everybody he is around and then … Surprise! he’s out, again.

    Anyway, some thoughts:

    If you like a chewier cookie, use 1 cup of brown sugar to 1/2 cup white sugar in the classic Toll House recipe.

    Lighter cookies that dunk well? Add one egg white to however many eggs for which the recipe calls.

    Before the chips go in, there is no such thing as over beating the dough. High speed in a mixer will result in a fluffier, more even textured cookie. The kind that win prizes.

    Use an ice cream scoop, the kind with the squeezy metal thing that dumps the dough onto the tray. Perfectly round cookies. I like a #40 scoop. The number refers to the number of scoops per … gallon, MAYBE half gallon… not sure

    • Neighbor Nancy ~ I totally agree about whipping the dickens out of the dough ~ I do it all the time.

      I do use the cookies scoops ~ I have them in all sizes depending on how big I want to make them.

      Thanks for all your tips!!!

Leave a Reply

