Balsamic Chicken with Thyme

6 Comments

A quick and easy recipe that’s great for a weeknight!  I’ve made this for company a few times and everyone has always liked it.

I try and get boneless chicken breasts that are the same size so that it all cooks up at the same time.  While the sauce is reducing, I always put the chicken back in to soak up some of that great flavor.

balsamic-chicken-added

Balsamic Chicken with Thyme

1/4 cup flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 teaspoon pepper
4 boneless chicken breasts
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 large red onion, cut in half lengthwise,sliced thinly
1 cup chicken broth
2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1/2 teaspoon thyme

Mix flour and 1/2 tsp each salt and pepper on a plate. Add chicken; turn to coat. Shake off excess.

In a large heavy skillet, heat oil over medium heat. Add chicken and cook, turning once, 15 minutes or until browned and cooked through and no pink remains. Remove to a plate; cover to keep warm.

Add onion to skillet and saute 1 to 2 minutes until lightly browned. Add broth, vinegar, thyme and remaining 1/4 tsp each salt and pepper. Bring to a boil and cook, stirring often, 7 minutes or until onions are soft and sauce is syrupy. If the onion isn’t soft after cooking 7 minutes, add a little more broth and continue cooking until it is.

To serve: Place chicken on serving plates and spoon on onions and sauce.

Makes 4 servings.

VIEW PRINTABLE RECIPE HERE!

balsamic-chicken-added-2

Happy Cooking!

my-signature27

6 thoughts on “Balsamic Chicken with Thyme

  1. Nancy, WHY do I love all your recipes so much ?! I think that we must have pretty similar tastes and likes/dislikes because I can relate to all your recipes (if that makes any sense !) & I would love to cook almost every one you post (most other food blogs I can pick & choose, but with yours I want to make it all !). Maybe you’re my “food twin” – aside from the fact that you like potatoes so much, of course 😦 as I am not too keen on them !

    • I wish I didn’t love potatoes so much ~ I’m not supposed to eat them. At least I’m not supposed to eat so many. I am a carb fiend for sure! I wish we could cook together ~ that would be a blast!

  2. The pic is making my mouth water. Looks sooo good. I have everything in the house to make it – except the chicken. Darn! Maybe later this week.

Leave a Reply

