Chicken Pot Pie

4 Comments

The ultimate comfort food as far as I’m concerned.

You can make this recipe in two deep dish pie plates and freeze one or you can make it like I do ~ pile it all in one baking dish.  It’s an easy recipe however you decide to serve it. If I am making just one pot pie, I use one onion but keep all the other ingredients the same.

chicken-pot-pie-added

Easy Chicken Pot Pie

6 cups cooked, shredded chicken
1 package refrigerated pie crusts
2 tbsps vegetable oil
2 medium onions, chopped
3 stalks of celery, diced
2 cups chicken broth
1 (12 ounce) can evaporated milk
1/3 cup butter
9 tbsps flour
3/4 tsp thyme
1/4 cup white wine or sherry
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup chopped fresh parsely
1 (16 ounce) package frozen peas and carrots, unthawed

Heat oven to 400º. Bring pie crusts to room temperature according to box directions.

Heat oil in a Dutch oven over medium-high heat and add the onions and celery and saute until tender, about 5 minutes. Transfer to a bowl and mix with the chopped, cooked chicken.

In a microwave-safe bowl, heat the chicken broth and evaporated milk until steamy, about 3 or 4 minutes. Meanwhile, heat butter over medium heat in the same Dutch oven. When melted, whisk in flour and thyme and cook off until golden, about 1 minute. Whisk in hot milk mixture and bring to a simmer. Continue to simmer until sauce thickens, about 1 minute. Turn off the heat and stir in the wine or sherry and season to taste with salt and pepper.

Stir chicken mixture, parsley and the peas and carrots into the sauce.

Divide mixture between 2 nine-inch deep dish pie plates. Top each with pie dough and flute crust edges.

Set on a baking sheet and 30 -35 minutes, until crust is brown and filling is bubbly.

chicken-pot-pie-added-2

Happy Cooking!

my-signature21

4 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pie

  1. Amaaaaaaaaaaazing!!!!!! Yum! This was so incredibly good. I didn’t do the wine or the chicken, and I added potatoes.
    I boiled my potatoes in chicken broth that i made with chicken bouillon and I added parsley, thyme, and cajun seasoning to it then later threw in the other vegetables after potatoes were tender, they soaked in a great flavor!

    Also… when making my gravy the way you instructed I added campbells cream of celery to it and mmm! magnifique! So… I call this my chicken flavored vegetable pot pie! It’s gonna be a staple dish, thank you! =)

  2. I’m saving this recipe to my favourites to try sometime soon. I like the idea of making 2 & freezing 1 as I always try to have “back-up” meals in my deep freeze.

Leave a Reply

