Baked Shrimp Scampi ~ Barefoot Contessa

7 Comments

When I saw Ina make this recipe on her show I knew I had to make it.  DH gave me her new cookbook, Back to Basics,  for my birthday a couple of weeks ago and it is in there as well.

I used all the same ingredients except I used the next size down shrimp ~ the larger ones were just too expensive.  However, I baked them completely different.  I don’t have a gratin dish so I used a 9×9 glass dish.  I also have no patience for butterflying the shrimp and placing them just so in the dish.  I shelled them, including the tail, and threw them in the dish and went from there.  You know what?  It worked perfectly.  I baked about 5-8 minutes longer and they came out great!

baked-shrimp-scampi-1

The Barefoot Contessa’s Baked Shrimp Scampi

2 lbs. (12-15/pound) shrimp in the shell
3 tbsps olive oil
2 tbsps dry white wine
salt and pepper
1 1/2 stick butter, room temperature
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup minced shallots
3 tbsps minced fresh parsley
1 tsp minced fresh rosemary
1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 tsp grated lemon zest
2 tbsps fresh lemon juice
1 egg yolk
2/3 cup panko

Preheat oven to 425º.

Peel, devein and butterfly the shrimp, leaving the tails intact. Place in a mixing bowl and mix lightly with the olive oil, wine, 2 tsps salt and 1 tsp pepper. Let the bowl sit at room temperature, marinating, while mixing the butter/garlic/panko mixture.

In another bowl, mix the butter, garlic, shallots, parsley, rosemary, red pepper flakes, lemon zest, lemon juice, egg yolk, panko, 1/2 tsp salt and 1/4 tsp pepper until well combined.

Arrange the shrimp in a single layer in the gratin dish, cut side down with the tails pointing up. Pour the remaining marinade over the shrimp and evenly sprinkle the topping over the shrimp.

Bake for 10 to 12 minutes or until the shrimp are thoroughly cooked and pink.

Makes 6 servings.

Happy Cooking!

my-signature1

7 thoughts on “Baked Shrimp Scampi ~ Barefoot Contessa

  1. Love, love this recipe!! Just like you I didn’t have the patience or the time to arrange them with the tails up, so just threw them on my baking dish but they were delish!!! Thanks 😉

  2. Pingback: Baked Shrimp Scampi « What's On My Plate

  3. Mmmmm… I made this dish last night for dinner. I also didn’t arrange them with the tails up, but I did devein them, which was kind of gross… but all that prepping paid off. I love Ina!

Leave a Reply

