Surprise Hit Recipe of the Holidays!

3 Comments

Tyler Florence’s Mashed Potato Pie!

Honestly, I didn’t hold out much hope for this recipe.  I WAS WRONG!  It was so good.  Even my DH who is less than thrilled about potatoes loved it.  I should have known that since it had horseradish in it, I would love it.

It was easy to make ~ just make sure you have a potato masher.  I think I snuck in a little bit of extra horseradish, too. Mine didn’t seem to be browning quickly in the oven and my game hens were ready so after a bit, I took it out and browned it on the stovetop for a couple of minutes.

christmas-christmas-eve-and-food-038

Tyler Florence’s Mashed Potato Pie

2 pounds potatoes, washed and halved
1 bay leaf
1 tbsp prepared horseradish
1 cup sour cream
1/4 cup chopped fresh chives
Salt and pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil

Preheat oven to 400º.

Wash and boil potatoes in salty water with bay leaf until fork tender. Drain potatoes. Mash with horseradish, sour cream, and chives. Season with salt and pepper.

Put 1 tbsp olive oil in a 10-inch ovenproof skillet. Put potato mixture on top of oil and bake until golden and crispy.

To serve, invert onto a plate and cut into pieces ~ we just took scoops with a serving spoon.

Makes 4-6 servings.

christmas-christmas-eve-and-food-037

Happy Cooking!

my-signature30

3 thoughts on “Surprise Hit Recipe of the Holidays!

  1. This sounds like something my husband would love ! As we can’t get horseradish here, I bet I could substitute it with Hot English Mustard ….. isn’t it funny how sometimes the dishes you think won’t be such a hit are, and those you though everyone would simply love, are left by the wayside ?!

Leave a Reply

