Holiday Tea in Colonial Williamsburg

2 Comments

Yesterday, DD and I went to our annual tea at Christiana Campbell’s tavern in Colonial Williamsburg.  It was lots of fun.  Costumed interpreters come in a talk about the holidays durng the 1770’s and usually there is a fiddler but there wasn’t one yesterday.  We did learn to dance colonial style though ~ the little girls demonstrated ~ they don’t want to see me dance, LOL!

Here are some pictures:

My DD, Libby.

My DD, Libby.

Chiristiana Campbell's Tavern

Chiristiana Campbell's Tavern

The tavern is way down at the end of the colonial area, here’s the back end of the Capitol.

Back side of the COlonial Capitol where Patrick Henry gave his "Give me liberty or give me death" seech.

Back side of the Colonial Capitol

Every single house and building gets decked out for the holidays with gorgeous wreaths, bunting, etc.  Here are a few:

Wreath has playing cards, pomegranites, and walnuts among the greens

Wreath has playing cards, pomegranates, and walnuts among the greens

Wreath on the tavern with pomegranites and dried flowers

Wreath on the tavern with pomegranates and dried flowers

At the tea, we were served blueberry scones, sweet potatoes muffins, finger sandwiches (Chicken salad, ham salad, and herbed cheese), and several different mini desserts (Fruit tart, chocolate cake, pecan pie square, decorated sugar cookie).  We had our choice of different teas and we toasted with sparkling cider.

I’ll be going back up the day after Christmas so I will post more wreath pictures ~ they are just stunning!  They also have to change them ALL several times during the season since it stays fairly warm here and the fruit and greens start to get funky.

DD and I then went to the Raleigh bakery to buy pretzel rolls ~ they are sooooo good.  Then we went down to the other end of Colonial Williamsburg to Merchant’s Square to shop.  This is where the renowned Trellis Restaurant is located ~ I’ve eaten there and it’s FAB!

On the way home we spent 1 1/2 hours stuck at the tunnel because of accident ~ blech!!!

Anyway, no recipes today but I will back on the baking bandwagon this afternoon and all weekend.  Next week I have to finish Christmas shopping and get all the ingredients for our holiday meals and then I will collapse on Christmas Day!

Have a great day!

my-signature21

2 thoughts on “Holiday Tea in Colonial Williamsburg

  1. Pingback: Dill Chicken Salad « A Recipe A Day

  2. Libberloo!!

    And I hope you all weren’t stuck IN the tunnel because of an accident. I would freak out if I was stuck in there and there was one… Yuck.

Leave a Reply

