Lemon Icebox Cookies

3 Comments

This recipe is really an old fashioned kind of cookie.  It’s really easy to prepare and you can even freeze the dough for a month or two before baking.  The cookies also freeze well after baking.  I subbed Splenda sugar and brown sugar and they are a little on the dry side but still very good.  I used the zest of a whole lemon and the juice from a big lemon ~ nice and lemony.  You can add in chopped nuts, coconut, poppy seeds, etc., when mixing the dough.

christmas-cookies-lemon-chicken-strips-006

Lemon Icebox Cookies

1 cup butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar, firmly packed
2 large eggs
1 tsp grated lemon peel
2 tbsps fresh lemon juice
3 1/2 cups flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp salt

Beat butter and both sugars with an electric mixer util fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, and beat well after each addition. Add grated peel and lemon juice and bleat until well blended.

Add flour, baking soda and salt to butter mixture, beating until just blended.

Divide into 3 equal pieces and roll each piece, on wax or parchment paper, into a 12 inch log. Wrap and chill for 8 hours. I usually make up the night before I want to bake them.

Cut each log into 1/2 inch slices and place on lightly greased baking sheets. Bake at 350º for 12 to 14 minutes until edges are lightly browned.

Remove to wire racks to cool. Store in an airtight conatiner or freeze.

Makes about 6 or 7 dozen cookies.

christmas-cookies-lemon-chicken-strips-007

Happy Cooking!

my-signature12

3 thoughts on “Lemon Icebox Cookies

  1. Oh My Goodness! I think these are what I have been looking for… there was a Grandma that took me under her wing when I was a kid…. we became very close. She used to make these all of the time, the way yours look is how hers looked, she had a lemon icing tho-. These were my all time faves. If you have the icing that goes w/ these… an old fashioned kind… I would so appreciate it. I would love to make these for my kids, & have these as family recipe…in memory of wonderful friend & adopted Grandma that took me in when I needed it most. Oh Nancy thank you, I so hope these are them :).
    I will get back to you & let you know as soon as make them…
    If you do have an old fashioned lemon icing recipe, I would love to have it!!!
    Hugs,
    Tammy & Family.,

  2. Pingback: The Baking Frenzy Starts… « A Recipe A Day

Leave a Reply

