Chicken Rice Soup with a Kick!

1 Comment

Well, my fix seems to be working but this computer is PAINFULLY slow now. I guess I need to work on that now. I think we’ll have to get a new one before too long. Maybe I’ll find a good buy during the holidays. If I don’t update for a few days, you’ll know it has finally died. I am having a terrible getting pictures to load so they are going to look wacky for awhile.

This soup is so good and would be fantastic if you had a cold. The kick isn’t too much of one ~ I didn’t have any problems with it and I can be a wimp with spicy food. The recipe calls for 4 cups of stock but I used 8 cups and also added a couple of chicken boullion cubes ~ otherwise I didn’t change anything.

Photobucket

Chicken and Rice Soup with a Kick!

4 cups chicken stock
2 cup cubed, cooked chicken
2 celery ribs, chopped
2 medium carrots, chopped
1 medium green pepper, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1/3 cup uncooked rice
1/4 cup minced fresh cilantro or parsley
1/2 tsp regano
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 tsp cumin
1/8 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

Combine all ingredients in a soup pot and bring to a boil

Reduce heat and let simmer for 30 minutes or until the veggies and rice are tender.

Makes 4 to 6 servings.

Happy Cooking!

my-signature13

One thought on “Chicken Rice Soup with a Kick!

  1. Sorry to hear about your computer problems, Nancy – I know how annoying that can be, especially when you’re trying to blog. It’s a bit cold & rainy here in Africa today – I imagine a bowl of this soup would go down a treat 🙂

Leave a Reply

